Orchestre Métropolitain – The New World Symphony

  • On October 11 at 8:00PM
  • Saint-Joachim Church Find address
  • Tickets: Cultural Centre Stewart Hall (514-630-1220)
  • Doors open at 7:30 p.m.


The vast expanses of America, the First Nations and African-American cultures, and the ideal of equal opportunity inspired Dvo ák when he lived in New York City in the late 1800s. Surprising rhythms, concise, recurring, attention-grabbing melodies, and a certain clarity of voice have made Symphony No. 9, «From the New World», a timeless classic. As for Copland’s suite from the ballet Appalachian Spring, with its simple, optimistic music that embodies rural American values, in particular gratitude and freedom, it leaps straight into his “Americana” style. The English Horn Concerto by Canadian composer Karen Sunabacka, whose music is notable for its poetry and charm, is given its premiere by soloist Mélanie Harel under the baton of the charismatic Alondra de la Parra.

Copland, Suite from Appalachian Spring;
Karen Sunabacka, English Horn Concerto (premiere);
Dvorák, Symphony No. 9, “From the New World” Alondra de la Parra, conductor;
Mélanie Harel, English horn.